[Guide] How to Wipe Your KeepKey Device Before Selling or Upgrading

Although the KeepKey is an excellent wallet for many beginner cryptocurrency holders and traders, more experienced cryptocurrency users may find themselves overly restricted by the device. Because of this, it is a common occurrence for KeepKey holders to upgrade to one of the more full-featured hardware wallets, such as the Ledger Nano S or Trezor wallet.

These other hardware wallets offer support for a much larger range of cryptocurrencies and feature downloadable apps that add additional functionality to the device, such as two-factor authentication, and compatibility with external wallets. The KeepKey, however, does not offer these features, which means it has limited use for those with a diverse portfolio of digital assets.

However, if you are looking to sell or give away your KeepKey wallet, you will likely want to wipe the device first, removing all of your accounts and allowing the new owner to start fresh with the device. Fortunately, KeepKey has included a simple wipe tool with the KeepKey Client, allowing you to easily prepare the device for the new owner.

What You Need

  • KeepKey Client installed on your computer
  • A micro-USB cable
  • Your KeepKey device

    Note: Wiping your KeepKey device will delete all the accounts you previously added to the device. You will not be able to recover your wallets without your 12-word KeepKey recovery phrase. If you do not have this, we recommend transferring all balances out of your wallet before wiping, or your funds will be unrecoverable.

How to Wipe Your KeepKey

Step 1: To begin wiping your device, load up the KeepKey Client, and connect your KeepKey to your computer using its micro-USB cable.

Once connected, you should be prompted to enter your device PIN. Use the grid on the screen to enter your PIN based on the layout shown on your KeepKey device, before clicking the ‘Send PIN’ button to continue.

If you have set a BIP39 passphrase for your device, you will also need to enter this before being redirected to the KeepKey Client dashboard.

Step 2: On your KeepKey Client dashboard, click the settings cog on the top left.

Step 3: In the settings menu, select the ‘Wipe Device’ option.

Step 4: You will then be prompted to confirm the wipe on your KeepKey device.

To do this, simply hold down the device button for a few seconds until the triangle in the corner turns into a check (tick), after which you can release the button.

After releasing the KeepKey button, your device will be wiped immediately. It is now ready to sell, or give to somebody else to use.

This device will need to be initialized by the new owner before it can be used. Now, if you have upgraded to a Ledger Nano S, feel free to browse our recent articlesrecent articles to get the most out of your new device.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *